CAF Champions League: Vipers SC denied first leg advantage in Botswana

By Wasswa Juma


Jwaneng Galaxy 2-0 Vipers SC – Labatse Sports Complex (Botswana).

Uganda Premier League Champions Vipers SC were defeated by Jwaneng Galaxy on a 2-0 score at Labatse Sports Complex in Botswana.

Thabang Vincent Sesinyi’s brace secured maximum points for his side Jwaneng Galaxy.

In the first half of the game, both sides looked blunt with little scoring chances.

Thabang opened the score for Jwaneng Galaxy in the 16th minute.

In the 30th minute, Alfred Mudekereza who was in the posts of visitors denied Jwaneng’s Sechele Moagi’s free kick that was at near post.

Vipers goal scoring chances in half time were few including Brazilian Giancarlo’s free kick that got inches wide and Yunus’s powerless shot.

Second half returned with both teams improved and it was a show case by both goalkeepers in the posts.

Vipers almost equalised in the 57th minute after a nice one two play by Sentamu and Anukani but at last Sentamu striked wide.

In the 63rd minute, Mudekereza double saved Carlos Fredericks and Moagi to keep Vipers in the game.

Vipers could equalise then though Bright Anukani’s long range effort that was brought back in play by Phoko was rebounded wide by Second half substitute Mohamed Salem Ekbad.

Minutes later, Thabang Vincent completed his brace when his strike past goalkeeper Mudekereza.

The results means, Vipers will now need 3 goals without conceding to seal a place at the 2nd Preliminary round.

The second round will be staged on Saturday 26th, of August at St Mary’s Kitende.

The aggregate winner between the two champions will be facing either Comoros’ Djabal FC or South Africa’s Orlando Pirates.

Vipers SC starting lineup

Alfred Mudekereza (GK), Isa Mubiru, Ashraf Mandela, Living Mulondo, Hillary Mukundane, Patrick Mbowa, Siraje Sentamu, Bright Anukani, Milton Karisa, Yunus Sentamu, Giancarlo Rodriguez.


Fabien Mutombora (GK), Denis Kiggundu (GK), Nzau Lutumba, Grant Matsiko, Richard Matovu, Karim Watambala, Mohamed Salem Ekbad, Awesome Fumador, Abubakar Lawal, Abdul Lumala.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button