FootballSuper 8

Newbies win it for Timbe as URA FC defeat KCCA FC to storm Super 8 finals


FUFA Super 8 


MTN Omondi Stadium, Lugogo 

URA FC claimed a massive 2-1 victory against KCCA FC to storm the FUFA Super 8 Finals as they dedicated the win to their late head Coach Sam Timbe.

Golas from new boys Ivan Ahimbisibwe and Laban Tibita were just enough to guide the tax collectors past KCCA FC at their home ground the MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

A game dominated by the hosts KCCA FC at the start against a more defensive side of URA FC who put up 8 defensive plays on the starting 11 with only three offensive players on the pitch.

KCCA FC failed to utilize their early chances in the game as Moses Waiswa failed to convert from the spot after foul on Arafat Usama in the penalty area in the 5th minute of the game.

Debutant Ahimbisibwe headed in a well timed cross from Joseph Ssemujju to beat goalkeeper Anthony Emojong as he put the visitors in a 1-0 lead in the 24th minute.

Moses Aliro showing the shirt with the late Sam Timbe 📸URA FC media

Filbert Obenchan scored the only goal for KCCA FC as he headed in a cross from Arafat Usama after a short corner with just a minute to halftime to level the scores.

KCCA FC missed a couple of chances in the first half with URA FC’s Ahimbisibwe coming close to scoring the second on the day as he dribbled past a couple of KCCA players in a solo run but his effort was parried away by a strong hand of goalkeeper Emojong.

Second half substitute Laban Tibita scored in the added minutes of the second half to separate the scores as he gave URA a 2-1deserved lead.

The tax collectors dedicated their win to the late Sam Timbe who was laid to rest earlier this week on Monday.

They will now face BUL FC in the finals of the FUFA Super 8 cup whereas KCCA FC will play SC Villa in the classification match.

How both teams lined up


Anthony Emojong (GK), Adilson Bruno, Herbert Achai, Peter Magambo, Filbert Obenchan, Gui, Saidi Mayanja, Moses Waiswa, Etienne Katenga, Arafat Usama, Shaban Muhammad


Denis Otim (GK), James Begisa, Eric Ssenjobe, Enock Walusimbi, Najib Fesali, Hudu Mulikyi, Hassan Kalega, Ibrahim Wamanah, Moses Aliro, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Joseph Ssemujju 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button